A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The primary education system is a vital component of every citizen’s upbringing. This schooling provides development of the mind, through memorizing essential facts within various fields of study, to critical thinking skills honed through certain activities and examinations. This process of education is an important step in developing a nation’s citizens to be congruent with that particular country’s societal mindset. Therefore, I am in agreement with the provided prompt that a nation should maintain a consistent curriculum throughout a student’s primary education, albeit with some certain limitations as elucidated in further paragraphs.

This policy of requiring students to all be exposed to a common curriculum until they enter college is an advantageous one. If all students in all states, such as the United States, are learning the same material as determined by the government it ensures that each child has been presented with a basic foundation required for either entering adulthood or continuing their education into a university. By allowing a nationalized curriculum it circumvents a particular state or community from commandeering these plans and using their own perhaps flawed or inadequate lessons. As an example of a possible educational failure by allowing more localized lesson planning one can look at the areas of a country that are more hyper religious. These areas have boards of education that have called for the elimination of the teaching of evolution to appease their citizenry. As the field of science has demonstrated, evolution is not some loosely debatable topic, but is instead a fact of nature. By allowing certain areas to design their own curriculum one can see how children could be denied exposure to some of the fundamental theories in such fields as biology. Thus, by maintaining a national curriculum that has been ensured for a complete worldview, students will have a better foundation for entering college or entering the workforce.

As mentioned in the opening paragraph there is certainly some caveats to allowing this national educational policy until students enter college. The danger of such a policy can come from a country that may not have the citizens’ best interest in mind when developing the education requirements. Look no further than the Asian peninsular country of North Korea. Their government certainly has a strong hold on the curriculum that is taught to the citizens. It teaches idolatry of its leader as well as hatred towards other countries such as The United States. The teachings are misguided and most certainly do not promote the wellbeing or needed educational developments of its citizens. This educational failure has contributed to a suppressed and impoverished nation.

As one can see the nuance of allowing a nation to require a standardized primary education has great benefits as long as that government has ensured a properly vetted and accurate lesson plan. Sure, small variances can be allowed such as allowing math teachers some leeway on whether to use Common Core methods or the more traditional ways without varying the final goals significantly. But, in conclusion the consequences of fully agreeing with the provided prompt must be weighed with its use within some rogue nations and the dangers that come from it.