Many important discoveries or creations are accidental: it is usually while seeking the answer to one question that we come across the answer to another.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Life provides many trials and tribulations. During these times many take an introspective look at their situation in order to ponder the solutions to their current predicament. While they may or may not find the answer they were longing after, often times they discover the answer to another problem. This phenomenon of accidental discovery can even be seen within a broader scope in many fields of study. Considering several important discoveries and creations can be seen throughout these fields such as medicine or psychics it can be reasonably agreed that the provided prompt is correct as explained below.

The field of medicine is highly complex with extensive research and development having occurred for centuries. As eluded in the opening paragraph, one of the most important discoveries in this field was found by accident. Early in the last century Alfred Flemming was a medical scientist working with certain strains of bacteria in his lab. He describes returning to his lab after a 2 week hiatus to discover something unusual occurring in a petri dish containing Staphylococcus. He discovered that an invading mold species had developed near the dish and created an area surrounding the mold that the bacteria would not grow. This accidental discovery was the beginning stages to developing antibiotics that would soon revolutionize the medical field and help eradicate many diseases saving millions of lives.

Further accidents that lead to important discoveries can be described in psychics as well. The scientist that was working with cathode ray tubes began to notice a glow near the back of his lab while working with the exposed tubes. While his research did not initially pertain to radiation he soon discovered that this phenomenon was the result of x-rays. A second example pertaining to the world of psychics was seen with the accidental discovery of uranium radiation. The current understanding nearly a century ago was that this exposed rock may emit radiation under ultraviolet light such as the sun. By scientific serendipity the scientist working on the matter encountered a series of cloudy days and tabled her work in a drawer. After returning to the drawer, now blackened from radiation, she discovered that it wasn’t the sun that caused radiation emissions but that the rock itself was the source.

One can argue that many answers to difficult questions or problems come from a direct inquiry and examination of that particular quandary. However, it cannot be ignored that many of the great discoveries are accidental in nature and often come while seeking the answer to another. While it may not always hold true for all great findings, the prompt still holds true when stating “many” of these discoveries were found by accident, as demonstrated with the brief examples above pertaining to fields of medicine and psychics.