A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The conclusion of a twenty-year study on residents of Mentia found possible therapeutic effects of consuming the headache treating compound salicylate. Based on the investigation, some health experts predict that an increase in consumption of these compounds, when artificially added to food products, will lessen the reported headaches of people in Mentia. They formulate this argument by stating that a correlation exists between commercial additions of salicylates to foods and lessened headaches as well as concluding a trend will continue as the companies increase their efforts in finding ways to incorporate more of the drug into products. However, the health experts’ predictions are based upon incomplete evaluation of the evidence and must answer three questions to further examine the validity of their argument.

First of all, did the participants in the study actually consume any of these artificially fortified foods? It is possible that the group studied sourced their meals from organically grown items that contained no additives. The evidence presented in the argument does not mention the source of the original study group’s foods nor how much salicylates they actually consumed during the trial. If this holds true and these people did not actually consume foods with the added drug, then the conclusion drawn is invalidated.

Secondly, can this decrease in reported headaches be attributed to another source other than the result of adding salicylates to consumer’s foods? Perhaps the decline in headaches has resulted from other drugs being used by the populace. It is possible that a number of the study participants started using prescription medications to treat their headaches during this time period. If this alternative drug treatment- or other possible treatments for that matter- can be shown, then the conclusion is severely weakened.

Lastly, is there a possibility that this continued push for finding ways to increase salicylates into food won’t actually increase headaches if too much of the drug is consumed? The conclusion predicts a decrease in headaches as the drug incorporation increases; however, this may not be the case. It may be that salicylates have a potential threshold of effectiveness based on blood plasma concentrations that once passed actually have a negative effect on headaches. This possibility would certainly limit the credibility of the argument.

In conclusion, the statement by the health experts in regards to a continued decrease in headaches for the city of Mentia is definitely lacking in its persuasiveness as a sound argument. As outlined above, the three key questions must be answered to further evaluate the claim. If more details can be provided such as a medical review of salicylates, a more thorough evaluation of the study participants’ drug use, or their source of food, then a more realistic evaluation can be provided for the claim and prediction.