Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A thorough and well rounded education is a vital component needed for success in this modern era. In the United States during a student’s primary education they spend over a decade exposed to numerous facts and concepts in several fields of study. During this time they will take annual standardized exams testing their knowledge of the facts presented in coursework. Is this method of testing a student’s grasp of facts a true indicator of a thriving learning environment? Although a successful education must be firmly anchored with factual memorization, as the prompt above suggests, educators should favor assessments that examine students’ ability to conceptualize ideas and trends surrounding these facts over simple regurgitation.

This assessment surrounding concepts and trends becomes even more important during secondary education. Student success can no longer just be based on factual knowledge but requires a more nuanced approach to measuring understanding of a subject. An example of which can be seen especially in the healthcare sciences. Consider a nursing student studying away at memorizing pages of accepted normal lab values, he or she may identify a serum potassium level of 3.5 as within textbook normal range and select to hold the ordered dose of potassium during a simulation. If the patient presented with diabetic ketoacidosis then this student would have incorrectly held a vital medication. The student would have needed to understand that in DKA the potassium level is actually not representative of the actual electrolyte within the cells due to migration from the acidosis. The student would need to not only be able to consider facts such as lab values but also consider larger concepts such as the underlying disease process of a patient. A clinical educator would be well aware of the complexities of medicine and should be evaluating students’ abilities to identify not only correct values but as well as their ability to critically think through a broader picture of their patient presentation.

Further examples in which the ability to rationalize concepts and trends supersede strict memorization of facts can be seen within the fields of chemistry and psychics. While educators must certainly make sure students have a grasp on basic physical facts of matter or memorize some of the more common and useful theorems or formulas, they would be more apt to quiz them on conceptual ideas rather than have them simply identify which value is closely approximated with Avagadro’s constant or the exact rate of gravity for example. The chemistry student’s ability to take these known physical facts and apply them directly to a concept questions such as one involving the interactions of atoms to identify whether a covalent bond will occur or not has more merit. And the psychics teacher will get more insight to a student’s understanding by asking him or her to explain why the object falling on an incline requires measurements of the friction coefficient rather than just asking them to substitute numbers into some given formula.

Learning is a complex process that involves many different techniques. While many may argue that educators should be assessing the students’ grasp of facts alone, this does not take into account the degree necessary for full evaluation of a student. Testing students on facts alone does not entirely measure their understanding of the subject at hand as discussed earlier. Assessing students on facts may be acceptable during an early learning period, as these facts most definitely do form a foundation of understanding. Nonetheless, educators should transition to a more abstract evaluation to better form an accurate and full representation of student learning.