Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It has been stated that the new store in the town of Plainsville started by the chain, Nature’s Way is going to be a huge success as the area has a lot of health conscious and there is a mandatory fitness program in the school children’s curriculum that which helps them earn the importance of exercise since their early ages. However before making the assumption of this new store to be a success, three important questions must be answered.

Firstly just because the residents are health conscious does not mean they will buy products sold by the store. They must already be spending a huge amount of money on their fitness shoes, clothes as also their health clubs and various classes. Thus it is highly doubtful if they will invest any more money buying these health foods and products. For instance, if a person’s weight is being well controlled by attending a health club and weight training class, he may rather prefer invest money in extending the membership of these clubs and classes rather than buying a food product from the store that claims to help in reducing weight. If scenarios like these has merit, the assumption about the store’s success does not hold water.

Secondly, since the people are concerned about their health, they may already be using health foods and products of other brands. It has been prematurely assumed that the people will choose to consume and use foods and products respectively from a new store in the town, rather than continuing the usage of the items that were available in their town since years. For example, a family may be using a milk powder that is protein rich since a long times. The members may not be willing to suddenly switch to products of another brand unless the latter promises some extra incentives like lower prices or more promising results. Therefore if such situations are true the argument of the store making high sales is significantly weakened

Finally, it is only the children and not their parents who are being trained in the mandatory health program at school. The children may just attend the program since it is mandatory without grasping or putting into use what is being taught. Since their parents do not have much idea about the program, the teachings may prove futile and in no way motivate the children or their families to buy the health products.

In conlusion, the argument as it stands is flawed due to several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to clear the discrepancies pertaining to these assumptions and offer more evidence, it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the argument that the new store by Nature’s Way in the town will be successful.