People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Individuals have a natural tendency to try not to put themselves down in the views of the society. They constantly try to change their behavior to what might make the society venerate and admire them more. Hence I do agree with the statement that the behavior of the people is largely influenced and determined by forces rather than their own making. I hold this opinion due to two main reasons.

Firstly, people have always been anxious about their image in the society. They uplift themselves in the eyes of the society they live in and trying to live upto the expectations of those around them. For instance, there are so many children who choose a particular career only to please their parents. Or different actors who live only on protein powders and diet pills as also do excessively laborious exercises and take steroids, just to look fit for their fans. This may even take a toll on their health instead of making them fit. The above examples demonstrate that people many a times place their decisions in the hands of other people directly or indirectly just so that it makes them more liked or respected.

Secondly, many a times people do not want to stand out negatively or be the only ones opposing a consensus. For example, in a company if a single person is against a certain idea, it is highly likely he will alter his opinion only because he does not want to be the only one holding back the implementation of the idea. Thus even if the employee is sure that this idea is going to cost them and cause losses, he votes for it so as to avoid being scorned and being put in the bad books of his superiors for contradicting their decisions.

Being driven by forces from the society is not always negative, for example, a student choosing a career of his parents’ choice maybe beneficial to him in the long-run or a very obese person going on a diet after being ridiculed by his peers can be salubrious for him.

While some argue that, there are people who do not let their actions and decisions be affected by the society, it is for a fact that the numbers of such people are miniscule. Also many a times such attitudes come along with some pathological conditions like being sociopathic or psychopathic.

In conclusion, due to the innate characteristic of a human being to be liked and respected, a majority of individuals are likely to rest their behavioral tendencies and actions be controlled and determined by a variety of outside forces