Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. When our researchers conducted a poll of area residents, 88 percent of those who responded indicated that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. In addition, Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies. We therefore recommend that you choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for your next HobCo Hobby Shop. We predict that a shop in this area will draw a steady stream of enthusiastic new HobCo customers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The research conducted by the New Ventures Consulting in order to find the suitable building sites for HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon, has picked up a lot of assumptions on it's way. The conclusion where they suggested HobCo's president to choose southeastern Grilldon as the site for his next HobCo Hobby Shop, is unreasonble and hasty.

The team of researchers did not find even a single hobby shop in southeastern Grilldon. Apart from a hasty conclusion, that this can be a business opportunity for the HobCo. Inc., the researchers should also have taken a note of the reasons for the same. There might be chances that the population in the southern Grilldon is negligible in comparison to the rest of the Grilldon population. Also, the area of the southern Grilldon with respect to the complete Grilldon areas is not mentioned. It can be insignificant too. There can be chances that, to pursue various hobbies, people commute to other regions of Grilldon, due to very less distance and less time to commute and thus, not feeling the need of a seperate hobby shop in their area. Adding on, it is mentioned in the excerpt, that majority of the population of Grilldon constitues of retirees, there can be huge chances that most of the retirees are stationed in the southern region, thus showing less interest in hobbies and that's why there are no hobby shops in southern grilldon. In the absence of all the above analysis, the conclusion made is immature.

Apart from this, the researchers had conducted a poll where they found that 88 percent of the residents told that they would welcome the opening of a hobby shop. Now, what was the size of the data set of the poll? If that is too small, the results can't be extrapolated for a generic conclusion. The second question is who were the majority participants of the poll? Middle-aged working men and women or school going children or retirees? There can be chances that only a single category of residents participated in the polls, thus forming a one-sided opinion, which cannot be relied upon for a legitimate conclusion.

Going forward, the research team also claims that Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. Now, if the distance between the southern Grilldon and other regions of Grilldon is insiginificant and the hobby business has already bloomed upto this level of profitability in the past decade, wouldn't it make another hobby shop redundant? There can be high chances for that. Also, the market behavior of the past decade and the coming decade cannot be compared. Expecting a profit in a line of business based on it's success over the past decade is naive.

Lastly, the assumption made by the researchers that the retirees have ample time, hence they would be the major participants in the hobbies, is also uncalled for. There might be chances that they don't even have the urge of pursuing any hobby because of their health issues and other body ailments. If the researchers would have presented a seperate data on their heath conditions as well as their opinion on joining the hobby classes, then some valid conclusion would have been made.

Hence, giving due attention to all the above mentioned assumptions and unanswered questions, the conclusion given by the researchers for opening the hobby shop in the southern Grilldon area, was hasty and unreasonable.