Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given passage involves a lot of assumptions in concluding that the Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

First of all, if the woven baskets were found only in the immediate vicinity of Palea, there are two possibilities after that. One, they are only present near the village of Palea, since the people of Palea has come up with it's design and there is no other place where it can be found. Second, the exploration for the said basket was not conducted properly in other regions. The latter is evident when the passage talks about the disocovery of such a basket in another village, Lithos, which was not in the immediate vicinity of Palea.

Now, after this also there can be two more possibilities. One, the baskets were taken by the Palean people across the river. Second, there were some other people who knew how to make the baskets of the same design. Now the passage has ruled out the possibility of the first with just one naive observation that the only means i.e. boats through which the Paleans could have crossed the river and reached Lithos, were not found. There can be numerous possibilities that the boats were not found. Since, it is mentioned that the Brim river was deep and broad, there are huge chances that the wreckage of the boats went down to the bottom of the river and became unreachable to the discovery team. Also, there are chances that the boats or their wreckage might have gone with the flow of the river to some far off place. The only conclusion that there were never any boats, that's why no boats were found, is full of uncertainties.

However, in the scenario, where there were actually no boats with the Palean people, in order to cross the river, the discovery of woven baskets, possessing the similar distinctive characteristics like Palean baskets, certainly imposes serious questions on the saying that these woven baskets were uniquely Palean. In other words, there were other people as well who knew this craft.

Keeping in light the above mentioned assumptions, it can certainly not be concluded with conviction that the woven baskets found on the other side of the Brim river, were made by some other community and do not belong to the Palean people. There are significant possibilities that the Paleans must have travelled across the river and that's why those baskets were found there, hence making those woven boats uniquely Palean.