Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

In the said memorandum, a television station has changed their priority on the type of news in their late-night news program. They devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During the course of one year of this change, they recieved most of the complaints from viewers concerned upon the station's coverage of weather and local news. They also saw loss of contracts from local businesses that used to advertize during their late night news program. The conclusion the station made, that the change in their program structure has caused all the complaints and in turn, caused the loss of revenue, is hasty and contitutes of a lot of unanswered questions. Their remedy to solve the problem i.e. to revert back the change and to fall back to the former level is also full of assumptions.

The station's decision to increase the time of coverage of national news can also be an effective step, from business point of view. It might have attracted other viewers' base who wanted to subscribe to some quality channel where they get quality national news apart from the weather and local news. There is no evidence present that the channel has not decreased the quality of their content on weather and local news. There can be chances that during the course of this step, the channel might have decreased the quality of these portfolios. And that was the reason for customers' discontent. If they would have increased the time and quality of national news and just decreased the time of local and weather news, without compromising with their quality, they might have witnessed a surge in their viewers' base and a decrease in the number of viewers' complaints.

In addition to this, there is no evidence which states the kind of competition the said news channel had in it's local market. There can be instances, that there lies one news channel which offers users a holisitic news experience where it gives almost equal weightage to national, local and weathere related news accompanied with a superior quality of content. There might be chances that the said television station, in order to accomodate greater coverage of national news directed most of it's funds towards that and ultimately compromised with the quality of all the three types of news, especially the local and weather related. And hence, the viewers' complaints were mostly related to the local and weather news.

As a result of a decrease in the number of viewers because of a significant rise in the number of complaints, the local businesses might have seen a need to withdraw their advertizing contracts. For a local business, the biggest consumer base would a population interested in the local news. Now, if the local news is itself not as per the expectation, there would be less TRP and hence, less impact of advertizing. The channel's decision to revert back to the former schedule was immature and naive. As, there decision of increasing the coverage of national news might have done well in increasing their viewers' base. The complaints could be only because they have deteriorated their local news quality.