The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Towns and cities imposing strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household, is definitely an effective way of curbing the amount of consumer-generated waste, but is it the best way? Let's see in the subsequent arguments.

World population is on a outburst. With the increase in the number of people, the number of households also increase, resulting in an increase in the amount of consumer generated waste. If the local goverment bodies of towns/cities impose a restriction on the amount of trash they will collect from each household, it will enforce the people to keep a check on the amount of waste they are being generating on per houshold basis. That means, every individual despite of making sure his indivdual contribution in the generated waste, would also need to ensure that the amount of waste generated by the other family members is well within the limits imposed. This way, the amount of waste being generated would reduce by a significant amount. Thus, the initiative is surely helping in the cause of decreasing the consumer generated waste.

Apart from this, the governement bodies can also organize some waste management programs in different localities, so as to help the households on how they can effectively reduce and manage the amount of generated waste. The programs can give special emphasis on using utensils instead of paper plates and using biodegradable paper bags instead of plastic bags. The local goverment bodies should also play a complementary role in this initiative, to make it even more effective. They should come up with measures on improving the overall waste disposal system of the city or town. Even if the check is imposed, the cummulative amount of waste which gets generated in a city, is huge, and a proper disposal strategy will only add to the initiative.

However, on can argue that even if there is a limit on the amount of waste per household, people can take undue advantages and can find loopholes in the implementation strategy. They can secretly dump their excessive waste to some other far off location, and it will in turn, fail the purpose. Also, it is arguable that the housholds are the only main contributor in the consumer generated waste. There must be similar checks for the dining places and malls, which witness a great number of foot fall on a daily basis. Also, the proposed strategy is only useful for developed countries like United States of America, where the waste gets collected from household to household. In developing countires like India, where there is no such system, and it is left on the houshold's end to dispose their waste on the nearby collection site, this strategy cannot be deemed as the best.

In the end, though the check proposed by the local goverment bodies, on the amount of waste which would be acceptable from each household, is effective and useful in decreasing the amount of consumer gernerated waste but it is certainly not the best way.