A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The world has a vast variety of fields to study. Given the vast diversity of different fields, there should not be a nation wide similar curriculum for all the students until they enter college.

Let's take a high level example. If a student wants to pursue Business Administration and if the nation wide common curriculum consists of subjects like Geography, Physics, Chemistry and Biology, there would be no use to make that student to learn all of these subjects. On the other hand, if his basics are reinforced right from the school level in the subjects of his interest, that would help him to master the advanced level of concepts which he would learn in college.

The world level competitveness is growing day-by-day. Most of the innovative companies try to hire the best in the field. If a nation wants to produce quality work population, it should have well-rounded liberal policies where students should be allowed to study only the subjects of their interest right after their senior secondary level, at least after their matriculation. This would help them to focus on their respective areas and would ultimately help them to nurture their foundations. This way, they would stand out of the rest of their counterparts in other countries, where education policies are not that liberal.

In addition to this, the liberal education policies can also help to decrease the cummulative number of school dropouts in a country. For an instance, a student wants to pursue medicine after his school. He is exceptionally good in Biology but the common curriculum wants him to score well in the subjects like History and Mathematics, as well. Unfortunately, if he is not good in these subjects and he couldn't get through the final exams, he might choose to drop out. And thus, depriving the world of one additional exceptional doctor. Had he been in a nation, where he was supposed to be good only in Biology to enter into a med school, he would not get disheartened and left his studies.

However, one can simply argue on the fact that a well rounded personality is only possible when a student is taught all the subjects in totality, at least up to a certain level of his formal education. This certainly cannot be ignored but there is a difference between imposing something and making it as an optional choice. There should be a certain level of liberty where a student should be given ample time to focus on the subjects of his interest, rest all the subjects can be taught but they should not be put as a definite requirement.

Culminating in the end, though it is essential to expose a student with numerous fields, but it should not be made compulsory to master them all. The curriculum should be decided as per the affinity of individual student, based on his interests.