Some people claim that the goal of politics should be the pursuit of an ideal. Others argue that the goal should be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Politics is a science which is country specific. Every country has it's unique history which paved the way for the resultant politics. Though, shooting for the stars, or ideals is definitely advisable but I believe that the real goal should be to find the common ground and to reach a common consensus.

Let's take the case of the world's largest democracy like India, which is known for it's diversity in cultures, traditions, religions and languages. In Indian political system, the members of Parliament get elected through a trasnparent procedure where candidates from different constituencies, representing their unique cultures, get elected by the residents of that constituency through voting. Now, for a country like India, the decision makers in the parliament are the flag beares of different sentiments. If the policies are discussed, with the goals to formulate them with an idealistic approach, it might be pleasing for a few but not for the others. So, here, it is beneficial to have a common ground though it results in a deviation from an ideal, but at least, that would be in the greater good for most of the citizens and their needs.

In addition to that, there are instances where an ideal policy might not be suitable for a particular country. For an instance, if we talk about transportation, and look up to the most developed countries like United States of America, Japan and China, bullet trains are the fastest means of land transportation. But, the introduction of bullet train in a country like India is not yet beneficial for a large chunk of the population. The basic trains are not even being maintained on time. Still there are several unconnected routes where the normal electric engine driven trains have not yet reached. Thus, a policy focusing on diversifying and maintaing the existing route of a conventional railway network would be a result of a common consensus, not the introduction of an idealistic bullet train.

However, one can argue that if each and every decision is left on common consensus, it would seriously impact the time taken to formulate that policy or decision. Also, in case of diverse opinions, most of the thing would not even fly, as there would always be some people left who would not be on the common ground. Apart from that, one can also argue that if we don't look up to the ideals, we would be left very far off in the race of development at the world level. All these concerns are legitimate, though the primary focus of politics should still be to have a common consensus because that is why the world can disavow a tyrannical form of governance, where there are no common grounds expected.

In the end, though ideals should be aimed for, as they are the important aspects which take us closer to be more advanced, but the real goal of politics should still be finding common ground and reaching reasonable consensus, in order to nourish the platform which the people of a country are in need of, not where the world is going.