Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the numbe

The store owners in Central Plaza believe that the decrease in their business is related to the increase in the use of the plaza by skateboard users. Also, they believe that vandalism in the plaza is associated with this sport practice. These arguments should be better evaluated for some reasons.

Firstly, vandalism cannot be associate to skateboard. There could be people practicing this sport without being responsible for the vandalism acts. These acts might be associate by the presence of other groups in Central Plaza. If there is fewer people going to this place, perhaps the plaza might be attracting persons that has the intention to only practice vandalism acts in it. In many cases, public spaces that has not too much movement tends to be a point for this sort of acts. In this context, the relation between skateboarding and vandalism should be better analyzed.

Secondly, the decrease could be an economical issue. In economic crisis, consumers might be afraid to go shopping in these places. If the Central Plaza used to be identified for shops that sells products considered superficial to consumers, then this could result in a depression in the amount of sells made by store owners. In this sense, people will not spend money in products that are not for basic needs.

Finally, interests of the public target might be mistaken by the shop owners. People might get tired about the sorts of things that are in sell at Central Plaza stores. For instance, these stores might be associated within a certain cloth style that are not considered popular anymore. Also, the Central Plaza might have only fast food restaurants while the public is looking for more health options to eat. In this context, someone that goes shopping and like to spend a good amount of time searching for product might get frustrated because there is no interesting food options to eat there. Moreover, if many families like to go for Central Plaza and there is no playground for kids to play or any other distraction to them, then there is a good possibility that families start to look for other places to shop.

Thus, the statements made by the shop owners should be analyzed with better attention. In order to reinforce their arguments they need to consider some elements. It’s important to analyze if there is a real conection between skateboarding and vandalism; it’s important to analyze how good is the financial conditions of people that used to buy there; finally, it should be reviewed the strategies to attract the public for the Central Plaza.