"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs to the former level."

The author concludes that they should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The author's line of view is that this will lead to attract more viewers and avoid losing any further advertising company.However, this argument is not convincing due to a number of reasons and I find it unconvincing in several respects.

First of all, restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level will attract more viewers and advertisers. However it is very likely that even after restoring the time to its former level , they might not get more viewers and may also lose more advertisers.They first need to conduct a proper study and make out a plan to how to retrieve the viewers and advertisers .Hence the author's generalisation is unreliable.

Second of all, a reason that author mentions to restore the time is that most of the complaints received were concerned with their station's coverage of weather and local news telecast. However, the author doesn't provide exact numbers and data for the number of complaints received .Also, the number of complaints in absolute numbers isn't a reliable parameter as proportion of complaints to actual number of users might be very less , for example if the number of complaints is less than 1% of the total number of users , then there's no need to worry as majority of viewers are satisfied with the telecast and have no complaints regarding that.

Thirdly, author states that the local buisnesses who used to advertise during the late night news programs have cancelled their advertisings. However, the author fails to establish a direct relation between the cancellation of advertisings and the time devoted to weather telecasts and local news. Also, author does not give any evidence regarding the same. It might be any other scenerio which led to cancellation of the advertisings such as local buisnesses might have been under a loss due to ongoing economic recession and hence they decided to stop the advertisings. Or,it might be the case that it is in very personal interests of the buisnesses to stop the adverstisings.So until and unless author corroborates the cancellation of advertisings due to the increased time to national news with an evidence , these cancellations might not be strong arguments and reasons.

In conclusion, the argument states is not a strong argument.The author must provide support for the assumption that restoring the time of weather and local news telecast to former level will attract its viewers and restore advertiseres and increase the revenues.