“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

First off, there is no evidence that the complaints received from the viewers were only related to late-night weather programs.May be nobody watches the latenight programs and the channel has reduced the coverage of local news even during the prime-time.If we get evidence for this then we can be sure that the viewers are unhappy with only latenight local news coverage

Secondly, Is there any evidence to suggest that advertisers cancelled only because they were concerned about viewership of the late night programs? It might just be a coincidence. Or they might have moved on to prime time for advertising slots. We are not sure whats the real reason for their cancellation. Someone needs to investigate whats the real reason for them to cancel the contract. If its because of the viewers of late night show were declining then we need to take necessary action to increase the coverage of local and weather news.

Also we need to be sure, lose of revenues is completely attributed to late night program only; there is a mention that local news was given less time not that it was completely off air. Was it signficant enough to lose revenues ? there may be some other cause for the cessation of contracts.What gaurantee we can give viewers will be attracted if more time is devoted to weather during late night news? May be people have started concentrating only on the prime time news. Or may be they have moved on to different channel. We need to be sure of the reason before increasing the local news level. May be channel itself is losing its popularity, there might be another channel which is airing news without any undue bias.

If we get the answers for the above queries we can take further steps to attract viewers and increase profit for the program.