Governments should invest as much in the arts as they do in the military.

Yes. There is no denying that for a country and its citizens to be safe and feel safe military is necessary. Be it democratic or autocratic, be it ancient civilisations or modern societies military has played a vital role in the protecting of the society and country. But it doesn't mean that we need to channel all our money into military. Arts is equally important. I agree with the recommendation.

If we consider ancient civilisations such as Mughals, they invested in arts by hiring many artists,singers such as Tansen. Those artists were highly talented individuals.They helped kings during morose times providing them some sort of entertainment. Indeed, Arts plays a very important role by having impact on our emotions. Arts and its contents can make a sad person happy, can enlighten us think from a different perspective. If we don't invest in arts it can not only hurt the livelihood of many artists, there wont be much of enlightening work. Also many of the jobs in these artistic fields will begin to plummet. Which can hurt countries economy.

Arts can also help by teaching future generation how the lives were lived in the current generation . It can serve as a record . Music etc can help learn people by serving as a basic building blocks in the respective artistic fields. Mozart, da vinci,shakespeare work are so astoundingly great, that it is even cherished today.Not only that, its even aiding people to learn and contribute to art fields. Because of that its helping to form a creative society. Indeed art work such as novels, biography can be historical evidences for future generations .

In order for culture to survive we need to have some significant channel of investments from government. For example museums where several of our ancient culture related stores depends on these small channel of money to create and improve their quality collections. If its stopped they wont have many means to survive. Lack of funds surely will result in many having trouble to fulfil even their basic needs. Moreover, there wont be any evidence for our culture and examples of contributions of our previous generation.What good we can we get from militarty alone? If country doesn't even have its own culture.

Finally i would conclude by saying that military is necessary to fight against threats that can hurt the country. But we should not ignore arts. Arts will help us to define who we are and it helps us creating our identity. Arts can aid in the economic development of the country. So it also needs similar investment as much as in the military.