The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Looks like seatown university is planning to expand its faculty and seems like the current faculty in unhappy with the management. The faculty committee's reasoning is based on several logical and statistical fallacies. Before implementing this the president has to know several other unknowns in order to implement this successfully.

First the the letter claims that the study conducted at nearby oceania university - the university was able to retain the faculty when their own children are given free education. But we need to be sure about the professors economic background of the oceania and seatown university. May be faculties salary is less that is what making them its a luring offer to make their students get educated freely. Or may be the oceania is a leader in terms of qulity education which is what making the oceania professors its an attractive offer. Before implementing the same at seatown we need to be sure how similar the oceania and seatown in terms of education and economic background of the professors.May its that the courses they indent to study for is not available anywhere and only oceania provides it. Which may not be the case in seatown

Secondly , May be the teachers in seatown are not given enough challenge in seatown. May be their salary is too low. May the management is too bad. Or there might be another university opened recently nearby which is offering better package , better quality of materials for providing education. This might be the case in oceania and retention might be an coincidence.

Lastly, We need to think about the free tuition policy for college-aged children. How feasible is that in case of seatown to provide free education? may be oceania has enough fun=ding . May be its a public university. If the professors themselves are funded low if they provide free education it can be detrimental to the college itself. The professors might still choose to leave. Do we really have a statistics to backup that the existing professors have college aged children? Even if they provide free tuition do they have all the courses the students want to pursue? If we get proper evidence that all these are plausible then we can be assured that the university will be able to retain their professors and will attract new one's.

The faculty committees intentions are clear. They want to increase the faculty's size while retaining the best: To provide quality education to its students. But the above reasoning might be detrimental to their plans to expand its staff strength. The president needs to analyse thoroughly the data before implementing anything.