An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Well the International development organisation's move to improve the well being of Tagus's citizens extremely laudable.Whether this new move will indeed benefit the citizens is dependent on the response to the below set of questions.

Although the new breed of millet is rich in Vitamin A recommendation doesn't say whether its daily average consumption in the nation of Tagus can supplement daily Vitamin A required intake. If this is answered we can be sure that they wont have to rely on any other sources for the Vitamin A and Vitamin A deficiency can be completely eliminated.

The recommendation does not tell us about this new breed of millet has other nutritional deficiency. Say genetic modification increased the Vitamin A but decreased the calcium and iron amounts. If this is the case and people start consuming it; it will help overcome Vitamin A deficiency but will cause iron and calcium problems. So the international development organisation might be blamed for this mistake. So we need to make sure if the new breed just increases the Vitamin A nutritional value and does not hurt any other important nutrition required.

The recommendation does not mention about the long term effects on the land in which the new breed will be cultivated. It doesn't mention anything about the farming requirements such as water levels, pesticides costs etc. If the new breed needs more water and constantly troubled by the pests then farmers will require more pesticides; will the government pay for this too? If yes, then no issues ; else we have one more concern to our list.If the cultivation of this new breed causes the land to degrade the farmers will have to suffer in the long term. All these testing must be done.

I would conclude saying that if the above questions are answered positively then at-least the basic set of concerns will be met positively and the citizens or Tagus can say goodbye to their Vitamin A deficiency.