Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

How do you define selfishness? Its when a person disdains others while achieving something for himself. But dreams can be selfish is an absurd reasoning to make a person following worthy goals. I do not agree with the face that young peoples dream can be selfish.

When people are young they have enthusiasm to learn many things. They can be moulded easily. They are fragile. The elders around them have the responsibility to guide them to the path of righteousness.

If they are shown examples of the achievers its not surprising that young people start dreaming about something similar. Be it professions such as medicine, engineering,science , sports etc. Now Who can tell that these dreams are selfish. I mean how can they be selfish? They are trying to contribute something to the society. I would be dire mistake to make them alter their dreams.

On the superficial level it might look selfish. Doesn't mean that parents should make them do something which they do not like. For example a person who wants to pursue a career in business might be asked to pursue engineering because of parents own selfishness may be the father himself was an engineer. But will it really help the young in the future? It might likely happen that the young one studies engineering just for the sake of studying and because the parent has forced him. The young one will fail in his subject even if he clears it he will be working just for the sake of working in it. In India its fairly common that people study engineering first then pursue careers like modelling , business, govt jobs etc. Which is clearly an indication that the parents forced the child to choose "worthy" goal instead of their own dream.

Just like any claim the claim can other side as well. Young one's are usually moulded by what others are doing. May be a kind after some of his friends pursuing medicine wants to become a doctor. But a parent and his teachers have data about his performance in the related subjects and his understanding on that subjects. In that case it would be better for teacher to dissuade him to pick a worthy goal for him. Because if he doesn't he might clear his college but in the end university might reject him. He will have to face a lot of troubles then to choose a different career.

In the end , Young ones are building blocks of out future society. It would be better to allow them to follow their dreams rather than to make them choose goals which we feel worthy, based on our inherently selfish reasoning.