Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free

As the line goes, "Knowledge sets you free", in the recent times being knowledgeable is being closely associated with maverick people. Though I feel formal education restrains the more noble

cerebral thinking and ideas, a less restrictive formal education with lot of practical learnings

would be revolutionary.

The enormous restriction formal education puts on students of "creativity" does play a negative role on their brilliant minds making them victims rather than creative. We need to ask a question here why it is like that? Why formal education does not allow freedom in thinking?

In formal education, there are more books and facts to be learnt rather than doing or seeing. In the chemistry labs, there are more books on chemical equations but less lab hours to actually perform those chemical reactions. So what happens to a student that he/she knows the countless chemical reactions performed by some other scientists but by his/her hands perform a scanty reactions. This does not help altogether. This generates a habit of cramming facts rather that getting amazed by doing those reactions themselves. Suppose if allowed to do those reactions (ofcourse under somebody's supervision so that they do not get any physical burns), it would surely make them understand those reactions in a better way and also they could experiment and look at the old things in a new perspective. This sometimes lead to new discoveries. Those students, in this way, understand the attributes of different chemicals and understand the relations between those chemicals and might invent some new amalgam (like carbon60) which is more resistant and strong than existing chemical compound. But this leeway should be directed in the positive direction which would ultimately result in some positive development rather than in negative ways. It might happen that some chemistry researcher develops some compound and use it negatively on humans or animals for his/her benifit, then this would be an utter abuse.

A strict formal education obviates the need of thinking creatively. A student thinks that ok this semester or this year, we need to study only this much to clear the exams and finally to get the much coveted degree. This lassitude and gloomy attitude towards education and knowledge could harm the efficient workforce of future scientists and researchers. With this kind of fact and degree oriented students join the workforce, it might happen that overall knowledge and competency in the world degrades and there would be no competitions and thus no improvement in anything in general sense. All of us will be nothing but a mere victim of our self inflicted problems and nobody ready to solve those problems becuase there are no free thinkers and everybody is just a machine doing the same mundane job doing absolutely nothing to upgrade the existing systems. Suppose if there no Steve Jobs, had we ever witnessed the look and feel of Apple products. He was the who invented the fonts of Apple products like iPods, Mac etc.

We can take example of several scientists, namely Albert Einstein, Nicola Tesla, Issac Newton, they all were free thinkers unperturbed by not having formal education and yet one of the greatest scientists of all times. It can also happen that if given some freedom to think creatively, then students might misuse the opportunity and use the time as leisure and do not do any productive work. This needs to be checked. So only those students should be selected who are actually creative and productive and only they should be given leeway from formal education and do differently to mitigate the abuse.

Though there are more benefits in promoting free thinking by shortening the restrictions put on by formal education, but it cannot be denied that formal education also brings dicipline alongwith routine. As discipline is also a necessary ingredient for getting success in any human endeavour, so its importance cannot be ruled out.

Recapitulating, we in the current age of moon walking and mars explorations, there is an acute need of less restrictive formal education which not only permits the course completion necessary for getting a degree but also gives freedom to think creatively about the subjects or problems at hands rather than solving them conventionally