It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Some people say that friends are next to our families. Humans cant live without one another. Right from when we start to walk we will start developing this so called "buddy network" or termed as friendship. We all have friends right from the childhood till college. Some may be forgotten some not. So important question arises. Is it really a good to forget about your old friends as you move on with your life? Sounds selfish right? What I believe is that even though its important to make new friends; we shouldn't forget old friends who have been there for us the whole time. I will be substantiating my views below.

Firstly, We do make new friends as we move on with our life. When for example say, you go to a college. You will make some new friends. You'll have fun with them, study together, discuss different things together. Its very important in order to progess and enhance your intellectual capacity. For example, when I started with my Engineerng degree in a new city , I didn't have any familier face to start with. I had to make new friends. I leart a great deal of thoughts from them. Played video games together,went on road trips together, improved my puzzle soving ability, communication skills etc. So overall without the new friends I probably wouldnt have landed with a good job or even got the good grades in college. So making new friends is really important.

On top of that if you make friends out of your league , say he is good at something that you have very basic skill , it can lead to gain some good knowledge. As there is a saying "Birds of a feather flock together", we tend to be in our comfort zone and try not to make new friends. Which can be detrimental sometimes. For example, when I was in high school I was very reserved , couldnt communicate properly , had stage fear etc. After joining college first thing I did was making some new freinds from seminar and debating clubs. With their help I was able to overcome my fears and helped me excelling in my current organization which requires lots of customer interaction.

On the other hand, you shouldn't ignore old friends as well. Its really harsh to neglect friends with whom you played while growing up or who have been there for you few years ago. Who knows you might need his help one or the other time?!! For example, one of my high-friend got admitted into one of the reputed medical college and he started ignoring few people from our highschool group. He got addicted to bad habits because of his new friend circle and eventually was rusticated from the college. Now few of my friends devastated after hearing the news were really there for him and helped him to recover from it. This example show how important some old friends can be sometimes.

Finally, I would conclude by saying that some people due to their ego and selfish concerns tend to forget old friends in the hunt of new ones, but its very bad from their part to neglect the old friends who have helped them.Who knows? Someday you might need them again. Its better to be in touch with old friends as well as make new ones as needed.