People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I completely agree with the statement that people who make decisions based on emotions and try to justify those with logical analysis are poor decision makers.

When we are bound by our emotions say for example under stress,anger,excitement,sorrow our thinking ability will be usually clouded my these extreme display of the emotions. Lets take an example: A person who is under the influence of alcohol/other recreational drugs , may be forced with hallucinations or will not have control over him. Lets say he does something which breaks the law say speeding,causing accidents or at worst murder. He will be caught. If he tries to justify saying that he didn't commit those crimes but he was under alcohol influence and it cause the erratic behaviour; who in the right mind wouldn't be angered. Everyone surely blame him for his heinous crime. So its better for a person to not to make important decisions when he is under emotional stress.

Lets take another example, In the fictional world of Game of thrones Joffrey of the house baratheon after rising to power clouded by his arrogance which was because of rise to power caused havoc in the city by executing his fathers trusted adviser ; which in turn caused the city to turn against him. He tried to justify saying that the adviser created malicious letters which would have cost him the true born son of baratheon which he was not his Kingdom. Later though many of his such decisions cost him his dear life. So if you are in a position such as your decisions affect a lot of peoples well-being its always advised to not to make decisions based on emotion.

However the above statement may not hold true in the life threatening situations. For example lets take a dog sitting in the middle of the highway. A speeding car is barging towards him; Dog now has to make a decision ; to run away from there or stay put and die. At the very last moment his survival emotions will kick in; he will jump away and will save his life. What I am trying to justify here is sometimes like this in the life threatening situations the decisions based on the emotions may prove to be good decisions and decider a good decision maker.

I would like to conclude saying that majority of the time we should make a decisions which is not clouded by our emotional bias. If its coming from our evolutionary instincts in cases of life threatening situations then it may be allowed.