A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I partially agree with this reccomendation. The intentions of this reccomendation is definitely laudable.But it should be required that nation can setup certain guidelines for same national curriculum that other states can adhere to with some flexibility, instead of mandating it.

Firstly if a nation requires all of its students to study same subjects from say primary school till graduate school, it can take of some burden off of school teachers and state boards as they are relieved of additional responsibility of setting up the syllabus. But on the other hand if lets say, there are students with some are going to pursue arts, some science. If the national curriculum is set with arts students in mind then it can be rendered as a useless from science aspirants point of view because he is simply studying the subjects just for the sake of doing it.

Secondly if the national curriculum is set for all the states then it can be a boon to students whose parents are in itinerent jobs such as military, business which requires them to move from place to place. This is because the students need not spend additional time or money on coaching. As the same subjects are present even if the student studies in a different school. The books and other educational resources availability can be limited if the state implements its own subjects because there may not be proper estimates with the publishers. Also the number of students taking it can be limited and there may not be enough data on the internet.

Also there can be quite a number of challenges in setting up the national curriculum. How are they going to take care of the people from different culture? For example in USA with immigrants from all over the world how will they establish a curriculum for students for whom first language may not even be english ? Will they set these prerequisites? What about mentally , physically challenged students. The curriculum should also consider these students while setting up the curriculum.

With the above advantages and disadvanges with mandating the national curriculum I would suggest that it would be best for natsion only to setup certain guidelines and leave the rest. Or better yet may be setup some subjects as mandatory with some electives that individual school or state can prescribe so that the students career can flourish.