"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This is the memorandum from the business manager of the television station suggesting a solution to restore the previous timing for the particular program in order to increase viewers. However, the argument seems logical and plausible at first instance, there is much more evidence require to prejudice the argument. With the dearth of more evidence, the points of this argument may fall apart to make a decision of restoring the previous time of the show to augment more viewers. in the argument, the author has not provided details of timing and other report studies which might be helpful for further study.

Firstly, the arguments are talking about late night tv show which was used to show local news and weather more often than national news which is more helpful for residence. people residing in the area may have this only one channel which shows the local news or most of the people are may interested in it. so there is no statistical data is given which shows the study of how many, people want to watch local news and weather over the national news.

Secondly, the commercial in between the programs has canceled the advertising contracts with the television stations. this commercial may offer cheaper rate products as the show timing was midnight. However, the television station must have done a survey regarding their program pertaining to the quality of news and related parameters to find out the reason behind the commuted viewers.company should attempt more age group study to determine the weather which age group is more interested in national news or another program which will telltale the reason behind the depletion of viewers.

Moreover, The company should look into the detail of timeslots or the other options like tuning the local news first and then national news to ameliorate the revenue and viewers. however, people might get interested in national news due to some event has occurred in past years like elections or Olympics. so the company should look for time to time survey or study of interest of people to stay right on track.even if the company is planning to restore the previous time period for the program it might not work because of repetitive or invalid news happening in locality.

In totality, the company should find the reason for depleting viewers on the basis of studies, surveys and examine the quality of shows with appropriate time for commercials. There is a paucity of proofs and evidence to incisive study and exegesis of argument without this one might maladjusted to prejudice the argument.