"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author suggested attracting more audiences in their news programs by expanding their weather and local news based on the complaints from some audiences and the contract cut with local advertise company. Although the author’s suggestion seems reasonable, it is too presumptuous to get the conclusion that planning to cover in all their news programs. Moreover, the reasons he provided have shortage each by each.

In the beginning, the author mentioned vague words such as “in the past year”, and “less time” to describe the situation about their programs. Without knowing the five years difference in the same program and the specific difference of coverages, it will lead to misunderstanding the problems of the program easily. For example, maybe in the year before the past year, the program cut the weather and local news shorter and less based on the residents complains. Moreover, the 15 minutes less could be very different with 50 minutes less. To give a more reliable context of the program, the author needs to provide information with more details.

Furthermore, although the author conveyed the question by complaints from views of concern their weather and local news broadcast, they did not clarify that the complaint is about the short time of the programs. Besides, given the circumstance of all the complains were related to so, probably become in the past year, the climate change caused more typhoon and flooding in the local area and more crime cases happened in the area so that the residents want to receive more information in time. Thus, do the weather and local news exactly needed are questionable.

Also, cutting advertisement because the company break contract is a very passive respondent. Although advertisements could be annoying and add television’s budget cost, it is the big source of sponsors and business chance. A cutting advertisement may hurt the programs more, instead of saving the revenue.

Thus, before jumping to the conclusion that changing the plan of programs in all news programs, the author needs to consider each possibility behind some complaints from audiences and the contract break situation. Simply stop using advertisement and please some audience by more local and weather news may make the situation more severely.