Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

In this memorandum from the business manager it is concluded that, In order to attract more viewers for late night news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, television station should restore their old timings for weather and local news. To support this conclusion few facts and assumptions are made.

It is mentioned that the television station had started devoting more time to national news amd less time to weather and local news over the past few years. During this period they got complain from few viewers regarding their coverage of weather and local news. Addionally, local businesses that used to advertise late night programs have canceled their advertising. This argument lies on series of unsubstantial assumptions and incomplete facts.

Firstly, it is given that televison station devoted more time to national news than previous. But, the exact time devotion is not mentioned. For example, Previously if 30 minutes were devoted to national news and 30 minutes were given for local and weather news now, the distribution is changed to 35 and 25 minutes for national and weather and local news respectively. Whether this change has affected the advertising business is difficult to guess. There might be more national news have come and less weather local news was available to broadcast. Some competing television station might have come that offers less prices to advertise late night. Without actually knowing old and new time distribution of news and knowing exact reason behind cancelling advertising contract, it is difficult to conclude that time shift has caused losses to late night news program.

Additionally, It is given television station has received complaints from viewers regarding weather and local news coverage of television station. It is not clarified that whether viewere were concerned about timing devoted to weather and local news or they were concerned about the news that is convered. Logically thinking viewers should be concerned about the quality of news chanel. Televison station might not be covering important news and might be showing redundant news in the time which was devoted to weather and local news chanel. Hence,in order to draw any conclusion it is important to know what exactly was the complain of viewers.

To bloster the argument, author should have given more detailed facts. For example, old and new time distribution of the national news and weather-local news. Viewers who reported complaint, what was the exact concern for them, it was regarding quality of news or time devotion to that news. Additionally, feedback from the local businesses about why they have cancelled advertising contract could have helped in understanding exact reason. In absesnce of this data, one cannot conclude that restoring old time pf news program will help to attract more viewers and avoid further advertising revenue.

In the sum, the argument lies on certain doubtful assumptions. The argument with such obvious loopholes and fallacies does not stand up to a more careful scrutiny. Had, the author supported his argument by providing substantial data as mentioned in the previous paragraph, it would have helped him in bolstering the argument. However, in absense of this data argument is unsubstantiated and author's stand is vindicated.