A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

In this statement author asserts that a nation should aquire all of its student to study the same national curriculum untill they enter college. This ensures an uniformity of educational standards across nation. But, I disagree with the author's statement as it is indefensible from both empirical and normative viewpoint.

School curriculum is designed to help overall development of a child and to give them foundation for their future career. However, a nation comprises of people from different background having variation in their everyday life. Hence, I believe that their curriculum should be designed in little specific pattern so as to help them take maximum benefit of it.

When nation has same curriculum throughout the country, curriculum becomes little generic. A telling example of this would be, a student reading about a historical war of his nation with some other country. Although, its important to know about your country history but, studying about his city, state will make him relate things more. He can relate current conditions with history of his region.

Furthermore, continuing to the previous point every village, town and state of nation has major variation in their culture, lifestyle. Understanding strength and challanges faced by their village, town and state will make student understand ecominc perspective of their region. For example, State having dominance in agriculture should have this as subject in curriculum to make student understand strength of their economy. Additionally, by studying challanges faced in agriculture area will make them understand weakness in this area and some might come up with innovative solutions to it.

However, some people might argue that having same curriculum throughout nation helps to achieve uniformity across country. But, in the long run this will not help them to live live more efficiently. Though there should be a common ground to entire curriculum but some variations are acceptable considering the difference in cultures, lifestyle and grographic location.

In the sum, however there are arguments to be made from both the sides, I believe that nation should have some variation in their curriculum considering the region differences. It helps student to relate things more and hence will be effective learing. When student enter college they are at the mature age to connect dots of their region on national level.