Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

While it seems like a plausible theory that the decreasing viewers and local business advertisements causing a revenue loss is merely due to the cutting of weather and local news time, there might be more to it.

The business manager is just taking into account the opinion of just few unhappy local viewers and making an assumption that this is the reason of the viewership decline and advertising cancellations. The manager must first start with level 0 by checking the decline of viewership per week from the time the changes were made. Secondly he should start moderating whether the news content that is being shown is up to the mark or just after increasing the national news time they have started showing immaterial and trifling news from around the nation.

Also, the reason of local businesses advertisement contract cancellation might be the increasing popularity of other rival news channels working hard on their content quality and maintaining a steady growth in their viewership offering a better visibility or a better deal to the local businesses.

So, after examining all the different possibilities only an informed decision must be taken instead of just looking it from one angle and making a major change rectify it.