According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The conclusion drawn by the advertising director seems to be flawer and made without proper consideration of several factors that affect the number of people watching movies in theatres. For starters the primary base of the conclusion is that the created content is still above the level the production had created last year by taking into account increase in percentage of positive reviews of people but does not provide a more granular level of report as to how the different movies that came out this year were reviewed by the audiences. Maybe it is because of one or two great movies the positive reviews went up. Also how the movies performed in different geographical regions cannot be just overlooked like this.

It also fails to accomodate the rise of online content platforms that are creating fast and great content in terms of originality and following the current trends. Many genuine movie watchers are enjoying movies and other contents at their homes only at a very substantial rates.

Also the report overlooks how drastically the tastes of the audience have significantly changed in recent years. More and more people are drawn towards huge fantasy action sci-fi flicks. The market is nowadays being ruled by production houses that are making these grand audience pleasers that leave the movie goers in awe of the great action pieces. This is evident by the movie Avengers: End Game produced by Disney surpassing another sci-fi fantasy movie Avatar to become the most grossing movie by amassing a staggering $2.7+ Billion.

Hence it might not be totally wrong to advertise more to please audiences towards their content but it would be more wise to do a market study of what the audience really likes nowadays and adapt.