The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

In understanding what makes an individual a good leader in any field, the best way would be to understand what it means to be a leader. A leader is not a person who passes down orders to others and chastize them if the orders are not carried out as he intended them to be. A leader is a person who thinks, talks and cooperates with others and helps direct the cause in a direction the team or the group of people feel as suitable.

Every field nowadays have reached a level of cut-throat competition so as to hinder the progress of all affiliated with that field and even the respective fields collective advancement also. If rather than pulling someone down to reach the top one tries to mutually step up would'nt that create a perfect society?

Although healthy competetion sometimes works wonders as it acts as a catalyst to achieve something, but it does not dilute the fact that unhealthy competetion or too much ambition to reach the top can cause a catastrophe. Take for instance Hitler, if Hitler's ambition would not have been to compete with everyone and to rule the world and rather cooperate and work with harmony with other nations, it would have been a completely different history and a less bloody one.

So where do people learn to compete or to coalesce and work together? It's the environment or the society they live in, that nurtures them and teaches them good values that they carry throughout their life.

Hence in order to create a better individual or a leader who will in turn help build better society, an organization or a whole nation, its very important that the values they are given are that of cooperation & harmony from a very young age only by those around them.