Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The author in his argument claims that if the time devoted for local and weather news is restored to its former level, the viewers are bound to increase. This claim however does not strongly prove that such a change is bound to happen. The reason for decline in viewers could be anything and not only the one mentioned by author.

It might so happen that the quality of coverage provided by the television station might not be adequate and so the viewers might have switched to different stations. For relying on the above claim, the author needs to compare the viewers of rival stations and present a data wherein the rise/fall in the viewers can be monitored and only then will the claim can be judged.

In addition to this, the weather might also be a judgement factor in deciding the author's claim. Because of the existing weather conditions, the people might have changed their sleeping habits and few of them might have started going to bed early. This will also have an impact on the station's viewer numbers. Thus, increasing more local/weather coverage will be of no use.

Furthermore, the author states that the advertising revenues will also increase with an increase in local news coverage. In this case, the author needs to offer a more detailed analysis on the local business in a particular target area. One of the reason the business are not showing up for advertising can be a decline in their profits. The businesses might be incurring losses and because of which it might not be feasible for them to add further advertising costs. Thus, adding more local coverage will surely be of no use in this scenario.

Examining all the various factors associated with the author's claim, the argument does not fully justify switching to local/weather coverage. While the proposal does highlight a possibility, more inputs are yet required from the author's part.