The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

For nurturing leadership qualities in individuals in several prevalent fields today, a sense of cooperation within an individual is must. The impact of having cooperation as a tool in an individual's inventory is significant and can be justified as shown in the trailing examples.

I personally think that a sense of cooperation in any individual starts growing from his childhood days. Take for instance kids playing a team sport in park are always taught by their parents to cooperate with each other and actively take further the game in a sporty way. When kids interact with each other, they learn about one's flaws and try to get used to it by cooperating with each other.

Furthermore, schools are another source of imbibing cooperation among students. It is in school only that students are taught to be a team player rather than an individualist. School activities like sports and team projects give the students an exposure to their peers ideas and thoughts. It is in school only that a student learns how cooperation is must for any team task to reach its culmination. Not only the cooperative quality within student is enhanced but also the leadership qualities are identified.

Adding further, truly cooperation is a must have quality not only during the early days of life but also when one enters the corporate phase. In many professional and business sectors, cooperation amongst different sectors if absent, will never allow the task to reach the end. One common example of cooperation amongst teams is the IT consultancy sector. In such sectors, to drive the client requirement, a whole lot of teams like the business, development, testing and support need a perfect collaboration and cooperation amongst themselves.

I agree to the fact that cooperation is a must-have quality in an individual but a slight touch of competition to any task can also have an appreciable impact. It is competition only that allows an individual to go beyond limits and think rigorously and come up with an innovative solution.

Looking at all the above mentioned instances it is glaringly obvious that having cooperation as an asset is truly beneficent for an individual in the long run. But a slight taste of competition is also required which in turn forces the individual to go beyond their own limits.