"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

An argument has been made that reducing the time allocated for local news and weather news in a late-night news program has caused the program to loose advertising contracts. This arguments has several flaws due to lack of evidence and unwarrented assumptions, which will be discussed in following passages.

Firstly, author mentions that they have received many complaints regarding weather and local news coverage during the time period, but doesn't specify the content of the complaints. These complaints might have been regrading the accuracy or any other concern regarding the news rather than the time allocated for weather and local news. Author assumes that these complaints are due to the reduceed time for weather and local coverage, but assumption does not hold up due to lack of evidence.

Even if the complaints are about the lack of coverage on local and weather news, that complaints might not be representative sample of the overall user opinions regarding the news, which will make the information biased.

Author also specify that local businesses has cancelled their advertising contracts with the program, without mentioning any purticular reason. There can be many other reasons for the businesses to changing or cancelling their advertising contracts such as change of the business model, government tax and regulations on advertising. Therefore, there is no evidence that the cancelling of the contracts are due to the less coverage of local news, which in turn makes the argument weak.

Finally author mentions that they will be able to gain back the advertising contracts and more users if they restore the time devoted for local and weather news based on the assumption that losing the contracts and viwers were caused by the lack of time for local and weather news. Again, there isn't enugh evidence supporting evidence provided which makes this argument weak. Author could have mentioned that the content of the complaints were specific about the less time on weather and local news to strenthen the argument.