"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or dis

Leadership by definition, is to guide or direct a set of people towards a common goal. Obedience or cooperation of the people that are being led is really important in a leadership role. Skills of teamwork and cooperation are the most important for a good leader rather than the skills of competing with others. Therefore, the best way to prepare young people for a leadership role in any field is to instill them a sense of cooperation rather than competition.

Building competitive environments around young people can surely help to improve their individual skills. If you consider the Advanced Level Examination in a country that selects the beneficiaries of free education by the results of the exam, it creates an immense competition amount the students. Based of this competition, many students will work ambitiously towards horn their individual skill with the purpose of surpassing his or her competition. This motivation, which promotes self-improvement and selfishness does not support the leadership skills.

In contrast, if there is a system that youth can work together towards a common goal, that will be better suited to improve leadership skills at a younger age. Winton Churchill mentions in one of his speeches that the most important feature of a good leader is to identify the skills and weaknesses of their peers and use them to achieve a common goal.

In conclusion, it is evident that the better way to breed leaders from the youth is to instill cooperation among them rather than competition, which will induce selfishness among them.