"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument claims that there is a reduction in viewers in the late-night programs due to increasing time to national news than to weather and local news. However, this conclusion is doubtful due to major flaws in the logic and coherence of the evidence provided. As a result, it leaves room for alternative assumptions.

Firstly, the author fails to prove that who were the complaints..? and from where they were complaining..? Complains might come from various places so we cannot say that they are literally asking about the station's coverage weather or local news. Also, the author had not provided any information about the day program. Perhaps, they are not focusing on weather and local news on day time too, or they may provide less space to them. Again he fails to provide any statistical data regarding revenue generated. On what basis he is comparing the revenue, he must have concrete evidence on it. So there are flaws in his argument.

Secondly, the author mentioned that local business advertisement was canceled due to less attention to the broadcasting of weather and local news on the late-night program.

There might be several reasons behind the cancellation of the advertisement like there may be few viewers on the night program. Or the company might be in loss so that they might cancel their advertisement. Every company or business had its own way of functioning so that they can earn a significant profit. So they giver more attention to advertisements to reach the peak point and after that, they reduce investing their money in advertisement and this could be a reason. The author only assumes that a decrease in time to local news and weather is the sole reason behind the decrease in revenue through advertisement in the night program. And, therefore, the solution is rife with many holes giving doubtful impressions on the readers.

To recapitulate this, the author has made a bold argument without taking into account a number of facts and concluded on the basis of the assumptions discussed above. To firmly conclude his argument, the author should provide concrete evidence and facts.