An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

At first glance, the statement regarding deficiency of Vitamin A among people of the Tagus is very conveying, however, the solution offered by the author is not complete. It lacks concrete evidence and hence leaves the room for alternate assumptions. The author has missed providing enough evidence that can affect the conclusion inadvertently.

Firstly, the author fails to mention the reason behind the deficiency of Vitamin A. His claim must contain the reason behind it. To bolster his argument he should present more statistical data regarding vitamin A deficiency among people. There might be the people who are using another food or fruits in order to get Vitamin A. Only the millet is not the source of Vitamin A. And hence author should need depth study of this serious matter.

Secondly, the question comes why only millet? There are lots of fruit and vegetables that have a sufficient amount of Vitamin A. The author mentioned that a new variety of millet seed cost more. So, it is obvious that it would affect people in purchasing seeds and cultivating them on the farm. These countries are already poor and impoverished. So, they could not afford the cost of new seed else they would purchase new crops that were cheap.

Thirdly, the author mentioned that the millet is already stapled in this country, people will readily adopt new variety but in this case, also the author fails to provide sufficient evidence. If you staple on something, it is not necessary that you could afford the new one of the same type at a high cost. As the cost of a new variety is higher, they may not afford it. Rather they could be stayed focused on what they already have or they could use a new strategy for uplifting the production of millet.

Although the solution provided by the author might be one of the possible causes to uplift the production of millet that would have sufficient Vitamin A, it is not the complete solution. There could be numerous alternate solutions for promulgating the production of millet. And there is no guarantee that by promoting the production of millet with new variety would eliminate the problem of deficiency of Vitamin A. With lack of profound analysis, supporting logic and comprehensive reasoning, the argument stands weak.

To recapitulate this, the author has made bold arguments without taking into account a number of facts and has concluded on the basis of various assumptions discussed above. To firmly conclude about this the author should come with multiple supporting evidence with statistical data and frequent evaluation