"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

This channel has a new policy of increasing time devoted to national news and decreasing time devoted to weather and local news in late night news. After getting some feedbacks, they discuss whether they should turn back to their formal time schedule in news. However, there is some benefit-cost analysis they should consider. Before taking any action, they should take into account their opportunity costs and then proceed.

Firstly, they assert that they get complaints mostly from weather and local viewers. Even there seem lots of complaints, they may be small and provacative population. In this case, it is important to check whether increased viewers of national news compensates this complaining population, even larger than them or not. Sometimes manipulating bad comments have higher voices than good results. For example, this new policy has increased complaints %5 percent but also has increased viewers by %20 percent. Hence, increasing time for weather and local news may decrease complaints but may decrease also viewers in total.

Secondly, they report that some local businesses cancel their advertising contracts so they should bring their local news to keep advertisements. However, before giving this decision, they should compare extra earnings from increased national news viewers with losses from advertisements earning. In addition, they should compare extra cost of increasing local news and weather with these losses again. After checking these, if local and weather has advantage in calculation, then they should claim their new policy was a bad idea.

In conclusion, besides their feedbacks from viewers and advertisement firms, they should give importance cost analysis behind. This channel has tried some changes but these changes may have interrupted their followers, viewers. Actually, they cannot make everyone pleased, they should give attention their net benefits in the end. If numbers also say that they should bring back old time schedule in news, then they should definitely turn back to former policy.