Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

he manager of a television station suggest to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its formal level to attract more viewers to the program and avoid losing any more advertising revenue. This suggestion depends upon the complains of the viewers regrading the increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. Also there is cancelation of many advertisment contract in this period. This argument is rife with numerous logical fallacies and therefore fails to make a cogent stand to be convincing.

Firstly, author states that most of the complaints are about the local news and weather reports. Stating most of the complaints makes the argument weak as it is a general statement. Definite number of complaints and exactly about what the complaints are about is not provided. It is possible that only 5 complaints might have recieved and only 3 of them might be concerning about the local and weather news. Depending on this it is not wise to reach the conclusion that the viewers are reduced.

Secondly, memorundum tells that local bussinesses have just cancelled the advertiement contracts with them. The reason for the cancellation of advertisement contracts might the businesses have shutdown or they have shifted their business elsewhere. Also, argument does not give any statistics fo how many contracts havebeen cancled. If only two contracts are cancled then it is not a big number tobe worried about.

Finally, devoting more time for local news and weather reports does not assure to increase the viewers. A news channel should maintain the balance between the all types of news it broadcasts. Making more devotion of time to a particular sector of news is not going to help to increase the TRP. Viewers are interested in all kinds of news and therefore balance is critical to maintain viewers.

Concluding, as the argument is based on weak analysis of all the possible angles, it fails to convince to consider the suggestion of the bussiness manager of the television station.