The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader has to lead a team and to be a successful leader it is important to have the sense of cooperation and along with it variety of qualities such as persuasive talking, problem handling etc. Not having one quality is not going to help young people of the society to become a good leader in any field.

Having sense of cooperation is important but being encouraging, motivating and acting as responsible member for all the decisions and its results perhaps negative or positive. It is realy important for a good leader to take resposibility for the failure of its team because if any plan fails or does not performs as expected can be a big reason for the demotivation for the entire team. Example, when the launch of a satellite was scheduled by ISRO (a space research department of India) whose team was led by A.P.J Abdul Kalam a prominent scientist, it was failed in its first attempt and the resposibility of failure was taken by Abdul kalam this action kept the team motivated to work harder for the next attempt and the results were positive.

Additionally, when a team for instance a cricket team is taking part in the tournament they are eventually competing against the opposition team. In this scenario it is important for the captain to maintain the cooperation to keep the team intact and motivated and at the same captain should be aware about the importance of the competing and winning. Because competitive attitude not only helps to win but also to improve and recognize the areas which the team collectively will have to work to improve it.

Moreover, when the government leader is cosidered he/she is not responsible for just a group of people but for entire society of that particular nation. So, the qualities government should possess to be successful are much more different and complex. Politics is involved with capricious events one cannot tell what will happen when, therefore, a political leader should have all qualities mentioned above along with being wise and cunning as well. Political leaders who were not cooprative and only being imperious and such as Hitler, Stalin etc made a big negative impact on the whole humanity so it is important to be kind and harsh in a balanced manner to become a good leader.

Concluding, one cannot tell only a particular quality is critical to be a successful leader in any field. A good leader should have numerous qualities with being competitive and cooperative at the same time.