Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands had become extinct. Yet humans cannot have been a factor in the species' extinctions, because there is no evidence that the humans had any significant contact with the mammals. Further, archaeologists have discovered numerous sites where the bones of fish had been discarded, but they found no such areas containing the bones of large mammals, so the humans cannot have hunted the mammals. Therefore, some climate change or other environmental factor must have caused the species' extinctions.

The author asserts that the humans are responsible for the extinction of the various mammal species and the reason is excessive hunting. To support this assertion author states that humans relied of fishing and hunting and as archeologists have found bones of fish, they assume that humans may have hunted mammals also. It might be possible but there are other more probable reasons that may have caused extinction of mammals.

Firstly, author states that mammals existed 7000 years ago and within 3000 years span they started declining as early humans relied on hunting. It might be possible but, 7000 years ago, it is long time, many things would have changed in that period may be due to climate change mammals would have died. As mammals were known to fur over their bodies as the temperatures were lower in those days, it might be the case on Kaliko islands . Temperatures would have risen up which caused the death extinction of mammals.

Secondly, author supports his clam by saying that archeologist found bones of fish and depending on this they concluded mammals also may have been hunted down by humans. It is not mentioned anywhere in the passage that bones or remains of mammals were also found, which is important to prove that mammals actually lived over there.

Finally, researchers have found simple stones knives that could have been used for hunting. By mentioning simple stone knives author made a self-contradictory statement. How the simple stone knives can be used to hunt down big mammals. At least one would require big weapon to kill a mammal.

Concluding, author should mention and consider other angles that might be possible which has caused extinction of mammals though hunting in the Kaliko islands region by primitive humans can be the reason.