The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment

To assess the real talent of a popular musician there is no need of a musician to be alive of dead the most important thing which is needed for assessment is the existence of a music composed by a musician.

There are many musicians who have made history by creating breakthrough musics of all time.Such as the prominent example would be of a Micheal Jackson. He created hip-hop style music which got quite popular at that time and is even popular today.It was the first time this kind of music was introduced to the world, as there was no any prerequisite to judge the music and talent of the creator as it was completely new, the assessment of his talent was dependent on the acceptance of the music of by the public. So, whether the musician is alive or not does not matter neither his/her popularity but the acceptance of the music and the unbiased nature of the people who are assessing it.

Adding, the musician A. R. Rehman known as Mozart of Madras who is also a Oscar winner which in itself is the assessment perk to judge the talent of the musician.Moreover, the music is an art and to assess the music or any form of art the more important thing to see the creativity in it. Therefore, the right element for the assessment of talent of a musician is his ability to create the music in a creative way.

Moreover, there are many different music s have evolved over the period of time such as classical music, rap music , rock music ,EDM etc. These are all different forms of music and different people have created histories in all different musical forms. Some people like one kind of music and some like something other. So, to assess the musician's talent the person who is going to judge should be unbiased and having knowledge of that particular music type.

However, if the talent of a musician is to be assessed by the popularity or by doing survey of whether the music is liked by how many people then it will be a wrong element to depend on.

Concluding, popularity will not hamper the assessment of the talent of the musician until and unless it is the criteria considered.