Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

The claim that government must ensure that their major cities receive financial support they need in order to thrive because nation’s cultural traditions are primarily preserved and generated in metropolises. However, the major share of preservation of culture and heritage is of villages and in some amount of cities too. There should be balance maintained for funding in cities and villages.

The major cities are more culturally diverse than any village as people from all over nation migrate to cities for various purposes. But being culturally diverse does not imply that culture is preserved. As cities are popular for being having modern life style, having good kinds of facilities (educational, healthcare etc) and these are main reasons people migrate to cities.

However, majority of people migrate from villages where the roots of culture are present. For example, in major cities the most popular festivals such as Diwali and Eid are celebrated but the festivals which are known to only particular group of community are celebrated in rural areas. And to preserve this government should focus more on rural areas for financial support rather than on cities who have other sources to preserve the culture such as cities can have financial support from the municipal corporations of that particular areas as taxes collected in cities are large sum of amount.

Additionally, the preservation of culturally significant sights will be more easy in rural areas as the rates related to properties and craftsman will be low contrary, it will be high in cities. The finance in the cities can be used for other development such as for hospitals , schools, colleges etc which is of more importance as majority people migrate to cities for these purposes as cities are more accessible and convenient than villages.

Concluding, as the culture has equal significance in cities and villages for this reason government should find balance for funding by keeping in mind all reasons addressed above.