All too often, companies hire outside consultants to suggest ways for the company to operate more efficiently. If companies were to spend more time listening to their own employees, such consultants would be unnecessary.

The employees of the company are well aware of the problems they are facing in the company everyday. To find the solutions to such problems it will be really helpful and critical to get the employees involved in the problem solving process. So, yes it will be better to spend time with listening to the employees rather than the consultancies who are outside the company and least aware about the internal problems of an organization.

Firstly, as the employees of the company are working in every day so it is obvious that they are more aware about the problems in the particular working process. Such as if the quality check needs to be done of the process whether a particular process is producing a product without a defect or not, the operator or an engineer who is knowledgeable about the process will be more accurate about checking results as he/she is doing it on the regular basis rather than a person from the outside the company as outside consultancy suggested in the issue.

Secondly, if in the human resource(HR) manager is to assess the performance of the employees for the sake of increment or promotion of the employees,the data collected by the HR will be more reliable than the people of the consultancy who are outsider to the company. Additionally, more such internal organisation problems such as the team management, management board decisions etc which are more critical to the improvement of the efficiency of the company can be well solved by the internal elements of an organization.

However, there are few angles which are responsible for the improvement of the efficiency of a company well can be covered by the outside consultants. For example, to improve the efficiency of the machine it is better to rely in the experts in that field as it will be more wise and less time consuming to do so. But if the organisation trains it's own employees to do the same work it will be more beneficial in the long run.

Concluding, in the long run it is better to rely on the experience of the internal elements of the company, as the data required for increasing the efficiency more correctly will be collected by the employees who are well informed about the process.