"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The argument provided by the author that relates viewership and viewer complaints to the extended coverage of national news is flawed.

The author states that over the last year, the increase in complaints from viewers have been concerned with the weather and local news coverage. This cannot fully be accounted for by the increase in national news coverage.

In any country, national news take foremost importance. The citizens of the country have the right to know how the politicians they have elected are performing their duties for the betterment of the public. If news were to focus only on the the happenings of the inner circle of a state, citizens would not get the bigger picture. A single state might very well be in prosperity while the neighbouring state undergoes a crisis. Take for example the case of the hurricane Irma that devastated the state of Florida. A person in the state of California would have been completey unaware of the cataclysm that the citizens of Florida had to face. Public support and relief materials from all over America would not have made it to Florida had the people of the country not known. This emphasises the importance of national news.

Another fallacy in the argument is concerning complaints from viewers. Nowhere does it say that the viewers complained against the expansive national news coverage, instead, the author says that viewers had problems with the channel's coverage of local and weather news. This could very well have been due to the news channel covering local news that wasn't of much importance to the viewers or the reporting of erronous weather predictions.

The author also states that the local businesses have cancelled their contracts with the channel which fails to relate to the coverage of national news. The channel could have not garnered enough viewers for the advertisements to be profitable and reach a large audience or the advertiseres could have sought a bigger channel with more viewership to advertise their businesses. The lack of audience which is a big possibility could also be due to the reason that these advertisements are featured in the late-night news segments during which not many people are possibly awake.This shows the news channel's inadequecy to retain advertisers and cannot be accounted for by the coverage of national news.

All these logical fallacies makes for a weak argument that the author has presented. The conclusion the author comes to: to restore time devoted to each segment to its previous level, would not garuntee any betterment in results. Unless the author accounts for all the logical fallacies, the argument of the author fails to be compelling.