Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

While it is true that the human nature tends to favour self-interest instinctively, it remains to debate what how worthy goals are defined for young people to chase after.

The fact of the matter is that there is no single way to define "worthy goals". Goals that youngsters have set for themselves could very well be the next biggest innovation that would shake the world. To substantiate, the very computer that I am taking the test in is a result of Apple and Steve Jobs. Jobs had quit college to pursue after his "dream" and ended up with Apple that single handedly revolutionised computers and smart technology. If he weren't given the opportunity or liberty to do that, we would not have made such big strides in the technological arena. The same goes with Mark Zuckerberg; if he hadn't quit Harvard to follow his dream of Facebook, we would now not have the extensive social connectivity that we take for granted.

However, world leaders would define worthy goals to be those that would have a huge global impact; realting to the environment, techonology and science, forgetting that not every person would be cut out for those professions. Every young person has a dream; to be a techer or an astronaught and somehow along the way, they lose that dream and end up taking jobs that they have no passion in doing. In situations like this, we see the rise of selfishness as the only gratification that people will recieve in these monotonous jobs is money and that is what they will chase after. It would be wrong to conclude that the person's goal is selfish here as they do not have any other choice.

In contrast, it is the dream of some to become big businesspeople and become wealthy. To these cases, it becomes our responsibilty to teach young people and encourage them to pursue their dreams, while instilling in them a sense of moral responsibility to give back the world and society rather than clipping their wings and forcing them to go after dreams that are not theirs. Flourishing businessmen and investors like Warren Buffet are huge philanthropists and give back to their community.

In conclusion, youngsters must always be given the freedom to pursue their dream whatver it might be but we must inculcate in them moral ethics and responsibility to give back to the same society and community.