The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The future of world lies in the hands of the today's youth. And society must do its rightful job of instilling in them, a sense of harmoniuos cooperation rather than cut-throat competition.

Cooperation can truly achieve great things. Take for instance the issue of Jallikattu in Tamil Nadu in India. To provide a bit of background, Jallikattu is a traditional south Indian sport that is mainly played in the rustic parts of the southern states. The government had banned the sport citing PETA's claim that it brought harm to the bulls that even proved to be fatal. PETA's claim was however, unsubstantiated with enough proof. There were many farmers who made additional income through this sport and specifically reared bulls all their lives to compete. It was a tradition that had been practiced for centuries together and was considered sacred even. It was an honour for the farmers when their bulls participated. To protect the tradition and revoke the government's orders based on PETA's baseless claims, massive protests were orgainsed all over the southern states. And the majority of the demographic that participated were the youth. They came together as one to fight against the government's orders and they manged to achieve just that. Thousand of students and young adults, put aside all their differences to fight for one cause and the result showed just what power they held when they acted together.

However, one cannot completely neglect the effect that healthy competition has on the growth of children. Competition always pushes oneself to do better and realise one's true potential. The reason we have ranks and the heirarchial power system in place is to awaken the latent potential one has in them. One can learn from the other and strive to become better versions of themselves by competing in the same level playing field. For example, only if one proves himself to be a good researcher by competing with others and displaying excellent levels of skill and passion will he be given the opportunity to elevate himself to the next level. Google's CEO Sundar Pichai started from the bottom and managed to prove himself to reach to the top. The position he is in is a result of him competing and proving himself.

However, there must be a fine balance between competition and cooperation. Both are essential and necessary but cooperation teaches us to respect our differences and work together rather than exploiting others' differences to our advantage. The world is indeed one big family and the youth of the world must be taught how to uplift others while lifting themselves. Both are unequivocally important.