Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author's claims have some merit but lacks substantial evidence to back those claims and is raft with fallacies.

First, the author states that fewer people attended movies produced by their company than any other year and attributes this to lack of public awareness about the movies being released. The author fails to mention many key factors that could substantiate his claim. For instance, the number of movies that the company put out this year plays and important role. If in the previous year, the company produced 20 movies compared to 10 movies this year, the percent of viewing audience would definitely drop as person predilection plays an important role. Not every person would want to watch all 10 movies. A variety of different movies would likely garner more of an audience.

Furthermore, the author also claims that the views went up for certain movies produced by the company. This claim is not compelling as it fails to talk about the demographic of the viewers. If the company had produced an animated movie much like Toy Story and the viewing demographic were mainly children, then the movie would most likely earn better reviews than other movies. This claim cannot be generalised to all movies produced by them. A few good reviews for certain movies does not garuntee the same for all movies.

In conclusion, the author's claims are raft with logical fallacies and unless these claims are substantiated with further proof, the argument fails to be compelling.