The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The statement that society must instill in its youngsters a sense of cooperation than competition is a claim that is highly agreeable. While it is true that competition does encourage people to push themselves out of their comfort zones and to do better, most of the times, cooperation proves to be a better solution.

To illustrate, in today's world, with technology and innovation growing at its fastest pace, there is a blatant need for intelligent youngsters to solve arising problems. However, nothing can be achieved if we teach these young adults to only compete with each others instead of working together. Take the case of the Fast Breed Reactors that India and Russia have been working on together. With a surfeit of energy requirement, nuclear energy seems to be the best solution moving forward and taking note of this, Russia lended its Nuclear technology to India for its betterment. And in turn, India, working on the Reactor technology was able to develop a high-functioning, efficient system which provides very large power output that proves beneficial to both the countries. This is a prime example of how cooperation could burgeon growth in countries that choose to work together than against.

Furthermore, sharing of knowledge and technology is on the rise nowadays. People are realising what five brains can do instead of one and are encouraging students to work in teams to solve problems, be it in a classroom or in the corporate world. For example, it was both Einstein and Bose who formulated the Bose-Einstein equations of general relativity. If either one of them had decided to not contribute in this coalition and had chosen to instead treat the other as their rival, the much celebrated equation in physics would not have seen daylight. Continually, the immense amount of work carried out with that particular equation as a precedent would not have been possible. This also goes on to show what cooperation can achieve and how it can lead to iterative innovations.

In contrast however, competition has always been proved to be a catalyst in betterment and growth of people. Youngsters competing against each other allows them to continually push themselves towards becoming better versiosn of themselves. Mangalyaan was India's mars mission and challenged USA's Curosity rover in exhibiting efficiency at a much lower cost of production. This mutual competition also lead to very creative innovation from both sides as it pushed them to do better than the other. In turn, the outcome of such a competition was the production of two supersystems that are now the sole two rovers that are exploring Mars. A point to be noted is that in this case, competition turned out to be the flame that ignited both countries to put their best foot forward in terms of innnovation.

In conclusion, both cooperation and competition aren't necessarily two different entities but more or less two faces of the same coin that lead to innovation booms but while contrasting the two, in most situations, cooperation does prove to be a better step to move forward than competition and the youngsters of the world must be encourage to work together than against each other.