"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument of the author is that Super Screen -produced movies saw a drop in viewers simply due to the lack of people awareness amongst the public than the content of the movies being shown and its quality. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention key factors only on the basis of which these claims could be evaluated. Furthermore, the author also takes a leap of faith in his claims and fails to provide any substantative proof that could support his viewpoint. Hence, the claim is raft with fallacies and in unconvincing.

First, the author states that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than any other year yet the number of positive reviews garnered has been more. This claim is supposedly based on a report from the marketing department. However, key factors regarding the arrival of conclusion from the marketing team has not been provided and in turn, the basis on which this report was made is unclear. To illustrate, if only 30 people had watch a movie and 15 of them gave out positive feedback, this can be accounted as more postivie review percent than with 50 people watching movies and 15 of them providing positive reviews. Essentialy, what is the ratio of the people who gave positive reviews to the total people who watched the movies? Also, how were the reviews deemed to be postive ones?. Clearly, these are crucial questions that need answering. Without these important factors, the authors claims cannot be justified.

Second, the author goes on to say that on the basis of the marketing team's report, the contents of the movies do not have any problems rather the public weren't aware of the quality movies that had come out. This argument is raft with unsubstantiated fallacies for there is no garuntee that the movies that came out from this production company were of high quality. Furthermore, the movies that came out could have appealed to only one articular sect of the viewing audience. To provide some background, a movie such as Toy Story would appeal more to children than adults and hence, the viewers could have been less. Without any information on the genre of movies that came out and its pallatibility to the audience, one cannot agree with the arguments of the author.

Third, the claim that a greater share of the budget must be allocated to advertising is based on unproved conclusions. There is no proof of an indication of an increase in the number of people who would come to watch the movies of this production company if advertising were to be taken up more vigorously. How many people had known of the movies yet not come ? How can the lack of people be connected to lack of publicity without any proof or survey ? Crucial questions such as these require answers since without them, the author's claims stand to be debatable.

In conclusion, the author's claims are unsubtantiated and fails to answer key questions. Only if these key factors are answeed can the claims be evaluated. Until then, the arguments stands to be debatable and unconvincing.