Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The argument that viewership can be increased and advertising revenue losses can be avoided by devoting more time to weather and local news is a flawed one. Because, to arrive at that conclusion, further evidence is needed about the viewership of last five years, no of complaints in last five years, and about the local businesses interests in advertising.

Firstly, if the viewership was increased last year and if this was because of increased time for national news then, it will be imbecile to decrease the time devoted to national news and restore the time devoted to local and weather news, because this may decrease the viewership and revenue of news channel.

Secondly, if the number of complaints received last year is lesser than that of last five years then, this may be because of increased time to national news. What if the number of complaints received is more when they had devoted more time to local and weather news? So, it is not lucrative for the channel to restore the time devoted to weather and local news.

Thirdly, what if the local companies were not interested in advertising in any news channel and they were preferred other media like newwpapers and magaazines etc.? Then, the revenue from advertising may decrease even the news channel increased the time devoted to local and weather news.

Finally, to avoid losing revenue from local businesses and to attract more viewers, they don't have to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to former level, they can increase the time or they can devote equal amount of time to both national and local, weather news.

The argument could be strengthened if the evidences about the viewership of last five years, number of complaints received in last five years, and local businesses interests in advertising were provided. Hence, in current form, this argument is an erroneous one.